Getting all political and stuff…

I try really hard not to get into politics. Well, I should say, I try really hard to not get into discussions with people about politics. I guess we all get in to politics to a degree, as long as we are alive in this crazy society we’ve created for ourselves. But talking about people’s political views? That’s a touchy subject.

I once heard someone say that there are 3 topics you never discuss: sex, religion, and politics. Well, this is, technically, a “religion” blog (I know, I know…it’s about relationship, not religion, don’t blast me in the comments). So I already talk about religion. I’ve already crossed the line there. I won’t talk about sex, because…well…yeah. And here I am, about to talk about politics.

I checked my Facebook feed this morning, and much of what people are posting about is the Iowa caucuses that took place yesterday. Apparently Ted Cruz “won” the Republican caucus by a small margin. And while I don’t consider myself a Ted Cruz backer (or any other candidate right now, really), I’m also not upset about the fact he “won.” Mainly because I know things are still early. We’ll just have to wait and see how things play out.

So seeing all the hubbub (is that a word?) about the results didn’t upset or surprise me. What did upset me was one person’s ignorant take on some words Cruz used in his “victory” speech. This is what he posted on FB:

“Our rights come from our Creator.” Ted Cruz victory speech.

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.” First Amendment

And that’s about the time I made this face:

 

face-you-make-robert-downey-jr

Seriously? You’re going to pull out the first amendment because of a comment Ted Cruz made in a speech? Allow me to list all the ways this Facebooker was wrong:

  1. Ted Cruz is running for president. While he may currently be a member of Congress, he is not attempting to make any law regarding the establishment of religion. He’s just speaking something he believes (I assume) to be true. Therefore, first amendment doesn’t apply here.
  2. Wait, actually the first amendment does apply here. It’s called freedom of speech.
  3. Another pretty important document in U.S. history actually backs Cruz up here: the Declaration of Independence. And I shall now quote from said document:

    We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights…

Yowser! It’s Thomas Jefferson, 1, ignorant Facebooker, 0.

Anyway, like I said, I try not to get into these kinds of arguments with people. It’s of absolutely no gain to anyone. Thus, I passive-aggressively posted my rant here instead of commenting on his Facebook post. But I keep seeing the first amendment used like this by non-believers, and it irritates me. There are plenty of dumb things that Christians do in this country that these people can and should be calling us on (failing to love our neighbor as ourselves, that sort of stuff). But not the Constitution – it actually protects people like me and Ted Cruz, and gives us the right to say things we believe.

Ok, rant over. For now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study

Leave a Reply

