A Conglomerate of Multifarious Deliberations

I’ve seen a lot of bloggers write posts where they want to talk about a lot of different things, all in one post, and they almost always title it something to the effect of “random thoughts” or “miscellaneous thoughts.”  I have found myself needing to do something similar, but since I am constantly stealing ideas from other blogs, I figured I best come up with my own way of titling such a blog post.  So I referred to my handy dandy online thesaurus, and this is what I have come up with.  I’m not totally sure if what I said is what I meant – if multifarious actually means something like promiscuous or licentious, forgive me.

Anyway, here is my random list of topics for today:

Where Have I Been?

If you come around the blog here at all, you probably noticed that something is missing lately.  Specifically, blog posts.  The last post I made was on June 6th, which was a good 16 days ago.  That’s over 2 weeks!!  Or, if your a dog, it’s like half a month…

I don’t really have an excuse.  I’ve been really busy at work, and I’m always busy at home.  With a 5 month old and a 5 year old in the house, we’re always busy.  Busy, busy, busy.  Just writing that word makes me tired.  On top of this, I was writing almost daily on the Bible study series that I was going through (The Power of the Gospel), but that ended right around that time, so I ran out of stuff to write about for a while.  But have no fear, I shall return.  And I am hoping that very soon, I will have some good news to share with everyone!

What’s On My Mind?

I’ve had a lot on my mind lately.  A lot of it is in direct correlation with the good news I hope to share with everyone in the next few days, and for right now, I’m keeping that a secret.  But there is one thing that I have been thinking about some that I can share, and I am sad to say that it is very negative.  I try really hard not to be a negative person, in general, and I especially try to not write negatively here on my blog.  But I have come across something that has started weighing down my heart lately, and I hope that by getting it off my chest, maybe I’ll feel better.  Or perhaps someone can share some insight on this whole thing that will help me see it in a different light.

The negative thing I am talking about is that of arrogance in our seminaries.  I have been looking at seminaries and Bible colleges lately, and the different programs that they offer. I’ve come to the realization that there are really 4 types of these institutions out there:

  1. Small, inexpensive (some free…) schools that are completely unaccredited
  2. Small, inexpensive schools that have religious accreditation, but not regional or government accreditation
  3. Small-to-medium sized schools that are a bit more expensive, and are usually only religiously accredited
  4. Large, expensive (and very well-known) schools that have religious accreditation, and (some) have regional/government accreditation

I would love to go to seminary, to receive some training in Biblical doctrine and in practical ministry.  But the system as I outlined it above really only gives me 2 choices – go to a large seminary, where my degree will be respected by any and everyone, yet be required to take out loans to pay for it (who has $10,000-$30,000 or more sitting around??).  Or, I can go to a smaller school, whose tuition I can afford outright, but whose degrees are not necessarily respected by any and everyone in the ministry-world.

My only real option is the second one…otherwise I cannot go to seminary at all.  But I hesitate to enroll, because I fear that I will end up spending a lot of time and energy pursuing a degree, only to be told later that I’ll have to go to a “real” seminary if I want to participate in the ministries of such-and-such organization.  Who decided that the big seminaries are the only “real” seminaries?  Isn’t it possible that some of these smaller schools are just as legit, yet much more accessible to the average guy? (Who still has a non-ministry job, by the way…)  Somewhere along the way, it was decided that to be taken seriously in the professional ministry world (at least in the southern baptist world), you had to have a degree from the Big 6 (Golden Gate, Midwestern, New Orleans, Southeastern,  Southern, or Southwestern).

On top of this, I recently read an article that talked about how some of these big seminaries played a role in attempting to shut down smaller schools. The article talked about the State of Texas attempting to shut down one of these smaller seminaries, saying that, because they were not regionally/government accredited, they must be a degree mill, and they couldn’t confer respectable degrees.  That case ended up going to the state supreme court, who upheld that private institutions could confer degrees under the umbrella of religious exemption, and that the state couldn’t interfere.  But do you know who was actually behind the push to get the small seminaries shut down?  The big seminaries!!!  The article said that, because the small schools charged so little tuition, it was pulling people away from attending the big seminaries, and therefore it was hurting them financially.

Whether or not this article was true, I really can’t say, and I hate to spread lies, so I pray that I haven’t done so now.  But I have enough other “insider” information on some of these big seminaries to know that they have a lot of what I call institutional arrogance.  I know about instances where people working there were mistreated, lied to, and stabbed in the back, simply because someone higher up didn’t like them or didn’t like their department.  The politics that drive everything in the administration of that seminary are worse than the politics that drive our state and federal government!  And this is supposed to be the cream of the crop!  The leaders in our denomination and the Church!  It saddens me greatly, and it makes me want to stay away from that campus, and the others that are associated with it, at all costs.

I’d like to know, what are your thoughts on this?

Okay, Enough Negative…Back to Positive

Alright, I’m done.  It’s off my chest.  On to our big plans for tomorrow and Friday.  We’re going to Sea World!  We’ve been several time, but it’s our favorite theme park!  I hope we have a great trip, and that the girls have fun. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

