Love by Calvin Miller

Love is a six-week Bible study that discusses the first of the Fruit of the Spirit, listed in Galatians 5:22-23. Each week, Miller explores one aspect of love in multiple ways – as a characteristic itself, as it relates to God’s kingdom purpose, as it relates to our relationship with Christ, its relevance to service in God’s kingdom,  and as it relates to personal worship. Miller expresses that love is the cornerstone of all of the other Fruits, and each week he teaches on one aspect of it through illustrative stories and discussion of different passages of Scripture.

As a whole, there were things I liked about this study, and there were things I felt were lacking. The organization was great – there was never a doubt about what aspect of that week’s characteristic of love you were going to study. On top of this, I felt Miller’s use of illustrations was very helpful in keeping my attention. I started the study with only a slight interest, but found myself looking forward to seeing how the author illustrated his points with short, interesting stories each day. Perhaps the best aspect of the study was that it effectively taught Biblical truths, capturing the fullness of God’s love without sacrificing the truth of His justice.  Those things said, I did feel that some of the reflection questions were weak. I would have liked to see the author give more Scripture for the reader to look up, and to use that as a basis for personal reflection, as opposed to some of the rather closed questions whose relation to that day’s lesson were not always readily apparent.

In the end, I would recommend participating in this study. I can definitely see myself going through some of Miller’s other Fruit of the Spirit studies, and I hope I get the opportunity to do so.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

