Abortion

At times, I deceive myself into thinking that I am strong enough to stand up for truth no matter what.  Then, something small happens that reminds me that I am a coward.  Today, it was writing the title to this post.  Just typing the word “abortion” in the title field of this post causes me to cringe a little.  Not because I am teetering on the morality of the issue.  I feel pretty strongly about the immorality of abortion.  I cringed because I know it’s a big issue, and that there are millions of people out there who don’t believe the same as I do.  I’m a coward, and I fear being ridiculed for believing differently than someone else.

But I can’t help but write this today. Coward or not, I have to write this today, if for no other reason than a little self-therapy.

I feel like I have been inundated with messages about abortion lately.  I follow author Randy Alcorn’s blog pretty regularly (see the link on the right), and he is a very vocal opponent to abortion.  If you ever get a chance to read his blog (or any of his books for that matter), I definitely recommend doing so.  A good start would be to read his post about how his organization, Eternal Perspective Ministries began (see here – I’ll give you a hint, it’s because he is such a strong pro-life advocate).  The other day I read a some posts on his blog about abortion and pro-life activism.  One that shocked me talked about a college student who went undercover at a Planned Parenthood abortion clinic, and took a video of the discussion she had with the abortion nurse and doctor.  Even more shocking was a comment on that post, where a woman told of taking a non-English speaking friend to Planned Parenthood to get some free early pregnancy services, and they deceived her friend into thinking she MUST have an abortion.  Fortunately she was there to tell her friend what they were doing, and to stop the whole ordeal, but it was shocking to think that they were going to try and abort her baby against her wishes, and take advantage of her inability to understand what they were saying.

Then, last week, I started reading a book – Uncle Sam’s Plantation, by Star Parker. The book is not a pro-life argument, in itself, but it talks a lot about abortion and how the government pays for abortions for women, and how that is just one of the many things the government does to control people.  I found it interesting as Parker described abortion clinics she went to when she had abortions in her younger days – the ones in the areas where more welfare-dependent women lived were posh and friendly.  The clinic she went to in Beverly Hills was drab and rude.  Why is that?  Some people might say that getting an abortion is made easier for welfare-dependent women as a means of population control.  But then again, maybe that’s just a conspiracy theory…

Today I read another post on Alcorn’s blog, and it was the final straw.  I had heard the argument before that if unborn fetuses are not children, then why is it so hard for us to look at the tissue that is left over after an abortion?  Is it because they look so much like real children?  I think so.  Notice how you never see pictures circulating the internet with images of aborted fetuses?  I’ve seen all kinds of crazy images on the Web – car crash victims, people who cut limbs off.  Some pretty nasty stuff.  But never an image of an aborted fetus.  Why would pro-abortion people care if those kinds of images circulated?  Alcorn asked the same question in his post, and he posted images of some aborted fetuses.  I’ll link to his post here, but I warn you, it is VERY graphic.  Alcorn makes the same warning on his post, and I really do not recommend looking at it unless you feel compelled to do so.  I looked, and I was in tears afterward.

I can’t really explain it, but I was moved this afternoon to just write about all this and link to these other posts.  I know pro-life isn’t always the most popular choice, but the truth is that the unborn are children.  They are living and are people.  And it breaks my heart that people are putting their own comfort before the lives of their children.  God have mercy on us – we are a wicked, wicked nation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

