Getting Some Jesus-Fleas…

You know that saying, “If you lie down with dogs, you’ll get up with fleas…”?  It’s usually used in a negative way – to say that if you associate with people of questionable character, something negative will happen to you.  In some way, their actions or reputation will affect you.  If you think about it, this is really true.  It’s even Biblical! “The one who walks with the wise will become wise, but a companion of fools will suffer harm.” (Proverbs 13:20, HCSB).  But have you ever considered that this same principle can be turned around and looked at from a positive angle?

A recent lesson in my current Bible study over prayer spent some time discussing the passage from John 15:7, where Jesus said “If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.” (ESV).  I’m not sure about you, but that promise sounded an awful lot like a blank check to me.  Whatever I wish?  Lord, sometimes I wish for things I know are bad for me!  Ahh…but then comes in the stipulation.  We must abide in Him.  To abide means to remain, to continue in, to persist.  To abide in Him means that Christ is in us, His message has permeated us to the deepest part of our core, and that it has remained for a period of time.  When this has happened, the composition of our prayers (whatever we wish) are a direct result of Jesus’ will and desires, and not our own.

So if you don’t find it too irreverent to consider spending time with Christ to be like lying down with dogs, consider doing so.  If you lie down long enough, you might just get some fleas. And in our little metaphor here, that’s actually a good thing.

2 Comments

Filed under Bible Study

2 responses to “Getting Some Jesus-Fleas…

  1. AMEN! This is what I needed to hear today. When people (me) read that verse sometimes all they can focus on is “if I ask Him for it, I will get it.” I find comfort in the fact that God doesn’t answer every prayer we pray. If He did, I know I for one would be in a mess of trouble. He knows us better than we know ourselves and He knows what we need. When I pray for something that is bad for me, or something that isn’t in the right time for me, Jesus knows what my heart is really asking for deep down. Like any good parent, He gives me what I need, which always ends up being what I want…but I just didn’t know it yet. :)

    • I know what you mean. My wife and I recently prayed together daily for a need (well, we thought it was a need) our family had. We prayed hard, but God wasn’t answering our prayer in the timing we thought was right. We had a deadline that the prayer had to be answered by, and we told Him about that a lot. We didn’t want Him to forget! :)

      Anyway, He did answer our prayer, but not in the way we had imagined. It required sacrifice on our part, and we didn’t get exactly what we asked for. But what we got was sufficient. I think He tends to do this for us – just give us what we need for the exact time we need it, nothing more, nothing less. We don’t always realize the sufficiency of it until later, but it’s always sufficient. And as always, we end up learning a lesson from the experience, which I have a feeling was the true reason behind why things happened the way they did.

      I think this time, I learned the importance of focusing on what’s important – seeking first His kingdom and His righteousness, and then a abiding in that.

Leave a Reply

