That’s Just Wrong… #1

Okay, so if you ever read my blog, you know that I’m not an extremely negative person. I don’t rant and rave about much, and I definitely don’t throw hissy fits. (Is it wrong that the spell checker wanted to change hissy to hussy?).  But sometimes something happens, and you just need to vent.  Well, today presented just that.  Let me explain…

In our office, where I work, people go out to eat just about every day.  About 3 times out of 10, they will come down and ask me if I want to go, to which I usually say “no” because, well, let’s face it, I’m not made out of money.  I realize that I have been labeled as a person who doesn’t socialize because of this (and also probably because there’s a sign on my office door that says “I Don’t Socialize!”…not really).  And I’m not the only one – the guy in the office next to me also never goes to lunch with them, and he’s starting to get the same kind of treatment (for our purposes here, we’ll call him “Bob”).  Well, it’s starting to bleed into other areas of the office environment.  For instance, today my boss tells everyone else in our department that he is going to be out of town – everyone else, that is, except me and Bob.  When we found out, it’s not like we threw a hissy fit (well, I didn’t…Bob picked up his chair and threw it out the window, then proceeded to punch the wall over and over while he cried and chanted Mary, Mary, quite contrary, how does your garden grow? …not really).  But we did feel a little left out.

Now, I know what you’re thinking, this is the reason he’s venting to us right now.  Well, you’re wrong.  The real reason I’m venting is because Bob proceeds to come into my office and tell me that the reason we kept getting left out is because everyone in the office thinks we’re “anti-social.”  At first, I totally agreed with him.  But then my Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology kicked in, and I remembered that anti-social behavior is what serial killers have.  What we are exhibiting is asocial behavior.  Big, big difference…

So, for effect, here’s the definitions:

Anti-Social – of or pertaining to a pattern of behavior in which social norms and the rights of others are persistently violated (i.e., their right to not be dead..)

Asocial – withdrawn from society (i.e., shy…)

The next time someone tell you you’re being anti-social, perhaps you can give them a small taste of what anti-social behavior is really like.  It’s doubtful they’ll ever forget again…

2 Comments

Filed under Random/Funny Thoughts

2 responses to “That’s Just Wrong… #1

  1. It puts the lotion on it’s skin….

    Sorry! This post was screaming (pun intended) for a Silence of the Lambs quote.

    • You know, I have never seen Silence of the Lambs…

      The most I know about it is what I’ve learned in spoofs about it, like the scene in the movie National Lampoon’s Loaded Weapon 1, starring Charlie Sheen’s brother, Emilio Estevez, and the guy who is in every 3rd movie that comes out, Samuel L. Jackson. They go in to see some guy in jail, who is supposed to be like the guy from Silence of the Lambs, I’m guessing. Anyway, one of the cops asks him “I gotta know… what does human flesh taste like?” To which he replies, “Chicken…” Good stuff, good stuff…

Leave a Reply

