Save Blue Like Jazz – The Movie

Have you ever read a really good book? I’m not just talking about a book you couldn’t put down – John Grisham books are good in that sense. As are many others. I’m talking about a book that you couldn’t put down, and that as soon as you finished, you read it again.  A book that both entertained you and made you think. For me, one book that falls into this category was Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller.  In it, Miller talks about Christianity in a way I’ve never heard anyone talk about – more like a love story with all its dramatics than the systematic methodology I had seen it as for years.

So, when I heard that Miller and some others had written a screenplay and were attempting to raise the money to create a film based off of the theme of the book, I thought that I would definitely want to see it.  But then, a couple of weeks ago, Miller posted on his blog that because of a lack of money, the movie was all but dead. End of story.

Except that it wasn’t.  A couple of guys from Nashville decided that they wouldn’t let this go down without a fight, so they have begun a Kickstarter campaign to raise the $125,000 needed to get the movie made. When I first heard about their fund raising campaign, I figured that $125,000 was a little too much money to raise, and that it probably wouldn’t happen. But then this morning I decided to take a look for myself.  Turns out, they have already raised $101,436.  I was amazed!  They only have $23,564 to go, which seems trivial compared to the total amount.

The only issue remaining is that they have a deadline – they must reach $125,000 by October 25th, or all of the money pledged will be refunded and the project will be scrapped. So, that gives them 20 days.

I’m not usually one to ask for money from anyone, especially for a cause that I haven’t given to yet or that I’m not a part of.  But as I read Don Miller’s most recent blog post, I was moved.  Here is what he said that got me:

At $125k we can shoot the movie, as long as none of us order a coke or break a lightbulb. At $200k, we make world history. If we get anything over $200k, everybody in Hollywood will wake up and read about us in Variety, and wonder what in the world this Blue Like Jazz Movie is about, and who in the world are the thousands who grouped together to make it happen. They will no doubt follow our lead. How’s that for a story, Hollywood following our lead for a change?

Everyone loves a good underdog story, and everyone appreciates the excitement of a come-from-behind win.  That’s what is happening here, and I think it is going to be worth it.

I ask you to consider giving to this campaign.  If you don’t feel it’s God’s will for you to give, please don’t. But think and pray about it, and if you feel led, please contribute whatever you can.  I haven’t contributed yet, but I will, and I believe that if the movie gets made, it will reach people in ways that no other Christian movie ever has. And I will have had a small part in that.

Know that if the campaign doesn’t reach $125,000, you will not have to pay anything. So, this is really risk free as far as movie investing goes.  I’ve never invested in a movie before, but I doubt there has ever been a risk free investment in Hollywood.

To donate, click the image above, or click here.  It will take you to the SaveBlueLikeJazz.com website, which has links to their Kickstarter campaign site.

5 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

5 responses to “Save Blue Like Jazz – The Movie

  1. This is awesome! I am going to give with my next paycheck. : )

    • On their Kickstarter site, it says that if someone gives $100 or more, their name goes in the credits as an Associate Producer. How awesome is that? And if you give $10,000 or more, Don Miller will fly out to your house personally and do a book reading in your home. I don’t think he comes to Texas anymore, so I am going to have to pass on the $10,000…

      I’ll be lucky if I can give $25… :) But I thought it was a good cause… I’d love to see the movie!

      • Hmmmm….I wonder how much money you would have to raise to sleep on Donald Miller’s couch and eat his cereal (I’m thinking Cinnamon Toast Crunch)!? $25 will get you a thank you phone call, which I think is completely and totally awesome. AND Zach and Jonathan already showed you some love and you haven’t even given any $ yet. I can’t wait to see the movie! :)

        • True dat… True dat…

          I still haven’t given anything yet…I’m like the guy who sells Hondas but drives a Nissan. I tell you what to throw your money at, but I don’t do it myself… :)

          Seriously, though, I’m waiting until tomorrow (I never give to charity on Tuesdays…it’s a rule I live by). What I’d really like to do is wait until they’re right at $124,975, and then give $25 and be the one that got them to $125,000. Maybe then Don Miller would lift me on his shoulders and parade me around like a champion. If not, I’d settle for a bowl of his Cinnamon Toast Crunch…

  2. Thanks so much for helping spread the word!

    – Zach + Jonathan –

Leave a Reply

