OMG #3: How NOT To Kill An Animal…

Maybe it’s only because I lived in the deer hunting capital of Texas when I was a teenager. Maybe it’s because I’ve watched a lot of TV.  Or maybe it’s because I have common sense. But whatever the reason, I am pretty sure that, if given the opportunity (or maybe I should say, presented with the necessity), I could kill an animal. I’m not a hunter, and I don’t own any hunting firearms – I used to own some archery equipment, but I sold it and never hunted with it. But if someone said “Jeremy, there’s an animal that is suffering out there, and we need you to take this handgun, go out there, and put it out of it’s misery,” I’m 98% certain I could do it with 2 or less shots.  Sadly, not everyone can say this.

I read a news story this afternoon about a sheriff’s deputy who was sent to see about a deer that had been hit by a car and was still alive:

“…the incident began after a call came in shortly after 7 a.m. regarding a deer that had been hit by a car along Tower Road near the Alachua County Library. The deputy was sent there and found that the deer had been hit at least twice but was still alive…’the deputy didn’t know where to shoot it. He calls the sergeant, and the sergeant says to shoot it right behind the shoulder, which is the location of the heart,’ Lt. Maynard said. Instead, the deputy shot the deer in the stomach.”

And not just once – 17 times, to be exact (see the entire story here).

So what is the biggest lesson we can all learn from this?  Deer are incredibly tough animals who can live through getting hit by a car – twice – and 16 gun shots. But not 17. Seventeen gun shots kills them every time.

2 Comments

Filed under Random/Funny Thoughts

2 responses to “OMG #3: How NOT To Kill An Animal…

  1. Laura Bartleson

    Thank you. I was wondering how many bullets I should carry around with me in case I hit a deer w/my truck but do not kill it… and now I know, I need 17.

Leave a Reply

