Captured By Grace by Dr. David Jeremiah

No one is beyond the reach of a loving God.

Not John Newton, who for much of his life was in the profession of trading African natives as slaves to England and English territories like America.

Not the Apostle Paul, formerly known as the Pharisee Saul, who relentlessly pursued and arrested believers, even consenting to the death of some of them.

Not you or me, regardless of what we have done in our pasts. No one is beyond God’s loving reach.

Captured By Grace, by Dr. David Jeremiah, is part biographical, part spiritual guidance. Using the words of the timeless hymn, Amazing Grace, written by John Newton, Dr. Jeremiah weaves the life stories of both Newton and the Apostle Paul together, showing how these men of questionable pasts became two of the most influential followers of Jesus Christ and two of the most knowledgeable figures in Christian history when it came to the grace of God. And using their example, he shows us how we, too, can be captured by God’s amazing grace to cover the sins of our pasts, give us power for the present, and provide hope for our futures.

When it comes to reading non-fiction books, I’m usually very quick to lose interest, unless some factor motivates me to keep reading. The biographical nature of this book gave me that motivation – I couldn’t wait to read the next chapter to see more of the life of Newton and how he came to write the most popular hymn of all time. At the same time, Dr. Jeremiah teaches sound, Biblical truth regarding God’s grace that I am sure will impact how I live and how I interact with God.

At times, while reading it, I felt like crying because of my own wretchedness. At times I felt like getting up and praising God for His loving kindness. But I never felt like putting the book down. I would recommend Captured By Grace to anyone, especially anyone who feels they aren’t good enough to come to God.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Captured By Grace by Dr. David Jeremiah

  1. ROBERT JOHNSTON

    I am interesting in purchasing cassette teachings and cd teachings. I have a small caring group who have been studying the bible for several years, on Wednesdahy nite.I often listen to you in the mornings on 89.7 FM, American Family Christian Radio and believe your teachings are annointed. Thank you, in advance, for the above info on how to purchase these items. Robert

Leave a Reply

