Late Father’s Day Announcement

Well, it’s been almost 2 months since Father’s Day, but this pretty little card that my little girl made for me at church is still hanging in my office. You may ask – “Why don’t you take it down?”  Good question, and I’ll give you a good answer. Because this card, my friend, is more than message of love from my daughter to me. It’s a sign. A banner. A message that needs to be spread far and wide.  What message, you ask? Well, it’s actually 3 messages in one:

  1. I am the best dad ever. Notice that it doesn’t just say the best dad in the world. It says the best dad ever.  That means for all time. So although George Foreman may have 11 children, 5 of which have the same name as him, I still have him beat. And although George Washington may be the father of our country, he never had children. So I have him beat. Of course, I’ve never had wooden teeth, so maybe we can call it a draw.
  2. My daughter is so devoted to me that she cut herself and used her own blood to make those hand prints. I’m pretty sure it’s blood…there’s a remote chance it’s just red fingerpaint.
  3. My daughter has two right hands. Yep…look at the picture. Both prints are of hands with thumbs on the left side. The bad news? She’s left-handed, so we’ll have a heck of a time teaching her how to write. The good news?  When someone sticks out their right hand to shake hands, she’ll never make the embarrassing mistake I always make by sticking out the wrong hand. She’s good to go with either hand. And I love that about her.

So to the 128 other dads that I saw walking around with these at church that day, I remind you – you may have a similar card as me, but you still have a lot to live up to.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Funny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

