Potty Humor…

A week ago this past Saturday (so technically a week and a half ago now), my family and I and my youngest brother took a trip to the Dallas Zoo. It wasn’t our first time to go to this zoo – in fact, we are regulars at zoos all over the state of Texas. We’ve been to the San Antonio Zoo, the Waco zoo (Cameron Park Zoo), the Fort Worth Zoo, and the Dallas Zoo. This was our second trip to the Dallas Zoo, and it was very enjoyable. Every time we go to the zoo, though, something outrageous happens. It’s usually gross – like when the gorilla at the Fort Worth Zoo sat there eating his poop. I wrote about it here.  This time, though, nothing gross happened that I remember. That is unless you consider the amount of sweating we did on a hot July afternoon gross. Then it would have been amazingly disgusting.

Anyway, at one point we entered a part of the zoo that just opened this summer, called GIANTS OF THE SAVANNAH (which I’m pretty sure you have to yell for it to get its full effect – thus the all-caps version you see here). Right as you walk in there are some restrooms to the right, and in front of the restrooms is this sign. I immediately knew I had to take a picture of it with my phone, but then I saw a giraffe and forgot all about it. I love giraffes. Anyway, after a week and a half to think about it, I finally went online and found where someone else had taken a picture of it and stole it…I mean…borrowed it (hey, I did link back to their site…). I couldn’t decide whether writing about poop was appropriate on a site where I also talk about having reverence for God. I mean…look at the sign!  It’s got an elephant with two huge mounds of…well…poop…behind it.  Some may say those are rocks, but I like to think they’re poop.

So now that I’ve done it – I’ve posted about poop – what do you think? Does potty humor have a place on a blog such as this?  Or does verse 4 from Ephesians 5, which says “Nor should there be obscenity, foolish talk or coarse joking, which are out of place, but rather thanksgiving,” take over and mean that we can’t joke about these kinds of things? Does humor have a place here at all, or should I keep it seriously serious? Please chime in…I’m truly interested in your opinions!

Author’s Note: I did not actually defecate in those restrooms, even though the sign gave me permission to do it.

2 Comments

Filed under Random/Funny Thoughts

2 responses to “Potty Humor…

  1. I’m all about keepin’ it real. And real….is sometimes funny. I think that if we start to take ourselves too seriously, then we are missing out on life. It’s all about balance.

    If poop is obscene or coarse, then why do we all do it?? We don’t even have a choice. : ) We totally have to poop or we’ll die. If you want to get spiritual about poop (how many times do you get to say that), then you could say it represents the fact that we need to remove the waste from inside us in order to get right with God and follow His purpose. Sin leads to death. We have to get rid of it. The only way to do that is through Jesus.

    So long comment, short….I say keep up the light-hearted humor! I am biased though….I write about dirty laundry, feet, and mustaches. And now…probably poop.

Leave a Reply

