Grace and Truth: Absolute Truth…

A little dialogue between you and me:

You: Wow! Is this your 3rd post for today?
Me: Yep, it sure is.
You: Why so many posts today?
Me: Well, I took what the locals around here like to call a vacation last week, and I got a little behind on my Grace and Truth study that I was doing. I’m attempting to catch up so that I can finish it up this week and start something new next week.
You: Did you photoshop this mustache onto a picture of yourself?
Me: Yeah, and it’s not even Photoshop Fail Friday! But is it that obvious?
You: Oh… Well… It looks… Well… Good… I guess…
Me: Thanks! I thought so, too!

Mustaches almost never look good. I’d say approximately 31% of men wear a mustache at any given time, and only about half of those look good. Only guys who do the whole wrap-around goatee thing are able to pull a mustache off. In fact, mustaches are stupid. I’d say anyone that has a mustache is severely missing the point of our God-given ability to grow hair on our faces. And that, my friends, is the absolute truth.

Now, I hope you first realize that I am totally kidding about mustaches. Honestly, I’m just bummed because I can’t grow a mustache, and even when I try, my hair is the same color as water, so you can’t even see it. I could let it grow for weeks and weeks, until it’s so long that it droops over my entire mouth and acts like those blue strips of cloth that you drive through in a car wash for my food. Maybe my food would be cleaner that way, but you still wouldn’t be able to see my mustache. No, what I was spouting off about in the previous paragraph was not absolute truth, even if I proclaimed that it was. It was an opinion, nothing more, nothing less. It may have been what I believed to be true, but that doesn’t make it absolute truth.

So, does absolute truth exist? Some people say no. According to Randy Alcorn in this lesson of the Grace and Truth Paradox, people often give these kinds of answers:

  • “There is no such thing as truth.”
  • “Truth is whatever you sincerely believe.”
  • “What’s true for you is true for you, and what’s true for me is true for me.”

But regardless of what man says, there is an absolute, never changing truth – God’s Word. The Holy Scriptures, both Old Testament and New Testament, are without error, and are about as consistent as you can get for a document composed of 66 separate documents, written by something like 40 different people, over a period of over 1600 years. That kind of unity points a single author, not a group of authors, which to me is the most compelling of all the arguments for the Bible being divinely inspired.

The Bible declares itself to be absolute truth. Psalm 119:160 says:

The entirety of Your word is truth, And every one of Your righteous judgments endures forever. (NKJV)

And in comparison to the permanence of God’s Word, anything that comes from mankind is destined to pass away (1 Peter 1:24-25):

All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of the Lord stands forever.

So how do we handle this absolute truth? For one, rejoice in finding the truth as opposed to celebrating the search for it. Many people (myself included) really enjoy the academic pursuit of truth by studying God’s Word and seeking spiritual knowledge. There is nothing wrong with academically pursuing the truth in God’s Word, but if you take Jesus’ parable of the shepherd who lost 1 sheep and left the 99 behind to find it, you’ll see that Jesus says that “when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home…” (Luke 15:5, emphasis added). We should be the same with finding the truth – we should place more stock in the end result of finding the truth than in the process of searching for it. Secondly, we should share it. In that same parable, Jesus said that the shepherd “calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep’ ” (v. 6). We should be just as eager to share the joy of finding the truth of God’s Word as the shepherd was to share his joy in finding his lost sheep.

I’m one of the worst when it comes to sharing the truth of God’s Word with others. I like my little comfort bubble of searching out the truth for myself, thinking about how it relates to me, and then going on with life. But if everyone was like that, the only real, absolute truth wouldn’t get spread (since God has chosen to spread it through messengers and witnesses such as ourselves). And the beauty of that truth will change a lot of lives – probably even more than the beauty of my fake mustache.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study, Grace and Truth

Leave a Reply

