Heaven: Reaching Our Peak…

This post is one in a series of posts on a Bible study I am doing titled Heaven by Randy Alcorn and Dave McCleskey. The focus of this study is to get a Biblical view of what heaven is really like.

Click HERE to see the previous post. Click HERE to start at the beginning.

I’m currently keeping up with Wimbledon, a Grand Slam tennis tournament going on in London right now. One of the world’s greatest tennis players of all time, Roger Federer, lost yesterday in the quarter-finals to Tomas Berdych, the #12 player in the tournament. It was a huge upset that surprised almost everyone in the tennis world, and one of the things I read people saying now is that perhaps Roger Federer has passed his peak. He’s getting up there in age (he’s only 28 or 29, but tennis is a demanding sport), so whenever he started losing matches, people assumed it was because he just isn’t physically capable of playing at the level required to win. Every professional athlete goes through that phase in their career – the time when they are no longer capable of playing at the professional level (unless you’re Brett Favre). I wonder, sometimes, if these athletes ever look back on their lives and wish they could return to their glory days. I wonder if they look to their past and think “my best years are behind me, and I have nothing to look forward to…” I hope that they don’t, because that would be depressing!  But today’s study talked about this very topic – that unless you have Jesus as your savior, when you get older this will be your exact line of thinking. Your best days will be in your past. But for those of us in Christ, every day on this earth is just leading us closer to our peak – our renewed, resurrected bodies on the New Earth.

Today’s post will be short (because today’s lesson was short), but I do want to point out some things that are true if you look at life from the perspective that you have yet to reach your peak:

  • If the best part of your life is yet to come, then there is no need to be disappointed about unfulfilled dreams. If you weren’t able to do things on this earth that you wanted to do because of a lack of money, time, health or whatever else, those resources will be unlimited in Heaven. You will still get to do those things, and your dreams still have the potential to be fulfilled.
  • When people feel their resources are limited, they often make poor choices. If I feel my time is limited, I may choose to do something that is self-pleasing now, thinking that I may never again get the opportunity. But when we have an eternity in Heaven to experience things, we are more likely to pass up on those pleasures now, which is often the best choice.
  • Knowing that our bodies will be strong and healthy in Heaven helps us to see health problems as temporary. I have been blessed with relatively good health most of my life, but when I look at people who are bed-ridden or have serious health problems, I wonder if I were in their situation if I wouldn’t feel angry, resentful, and envious of those with better health. It’s likely that I will experience some kind of health issues in my life, and I hope that when that time comes I will be able to keep the right perspective – that this life is temporary, and these health issues will pass away when this life does.
  • An eternal perspective drives obedience. Randy Alcorn said in my study that “everything done in dependence on God will bear fruit for eternity.” There are things we do on earth that have eternal consequences, whether good or bad. Obedience to God’s commands means reward in Heaven, so keeping a Heavenly perspective fresh on our minds will help us to be obedient.

Click HERE to see the last post in this series.

2 Comments

Filed under Bible Study, Heaven

2 responses to “Heaven: Reaching Our Peak…

  1. Grandpa

    Hey J,
    Your blog was really good today, it hit the nail on the head for me. Sometimes i feel like my days on earth is not worth living. That is on my bad days, and then on my good days, i thank the lord for every day that he lets me stay with my wife, children, grand children, great grand child, and my friends.
    Keep up the good posts on your blog.

    • Hey Grandpa!

      I’m glad that you are reading my posts – you and Amy may be the only ones! I will say that writing out what I learn from my Bible studies and from sermons and other lessons I get related to my faith has been extremely helpful. I think I would continue doing it, even if no one really read what I wrote.

      I have really enjoyed this study on Heaven. If it has taught me anything, it’s that this life is just temporary, and that there is a time coming when things will be better. It doesn’t matter how good or bad we have it right now in our present lives, if we believe and trust in Jesus, we get to go to Heaven where things will be better by far. And with this perspective, everything in my life is affected. I’m happier, I have a good attitude, and I really don’t fear anything. Why would I be scared to die when that just means I get to go to Heaven?!?! It sounds kind of weird, but I think it’s how God intends for us to think about our lives.

      Love you!
      J

Leave a Reply

