Some Places Where I Don’t Live, But I Wish I Did…

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love living in Texas. I have lived here my whole life, and I’ve lived all over the state. I lived near the capital city of Austin for most of my life, but I have also lived in west Texas (San Angelo), and right now I’m living in north Texas (Dallas). It sounds like I move around a lot, and I do. That’s why it sounds like that…

Over the years I have heard of a lot of interesting places. I’ve been to some of them, but most of them are just places I have heard about on TV or I know someone who went there. Every once in a while I hear of a place that is so awesome that I would pay good money to live there for a short period of time. These are my top choices, and each of them are linked to a Wikipedia article to prove they are real (because Wikipedia is infallible):

  1. Intercourse, Pennsylvania. Yes, you read that right. There is a town in Pennsylvania called Intercourse. This is perhaps the coolest name of a town I have ever seen. And to top it off, one of its neighboring towns is Paradise, Pennsylvania. Could there be any better pairing of towns? Intercourse and Paradise?  Of course, one of the other neighboring towns is Blue Ball, Pennsylvania, and that throws the whole balance of Intercourse/Paradise off. My grandparents have visited Intercourse multiple times, but not for the reasons you might think. It’s the center of Amish country in Pennsylvania, so lots of people visit up there to see the people who live simply and ride in horse-drawn buggies. I think that if I ever actually moved up there, I wouldn’t want to live in Intercourse, but instead I’d rather live somewhere near by. That way, when someone asks me where I’ve been, I could just say “Intercourse,” and they wouldn’t know if I meant the town or something else…  But for now, I’ll just have order a t-shirt to let people know of my love for this quaint little area where the locals shun electricity, yet love the fact that their town has a funny name.
  2. Boring, Oregon. I’m not sure I actually want to live in Boring, Oregon very long. I think I just want to move there for little while, just before moving to Intercourse, PA. That way, I can tell people that I used to live in Boring-ville, but now I live in Intercourse-Paradise! Is that too much?
  3. Butte, Montana. Now, before I get lectured about the proper pronunciation of this awesome town, let me remind you that I have the maturity level of a 12 year old boy. And I’m not the only one. The writers at Disney/Pixar must also have the same sense of humor, since they have used the name of Butte as a joke at least twice in their movies. Take the scene towards the end of Toy Story 2 where Buzz Lightyear is trying to save Woody at the airport, and he gets the sticker stuck to his bottom that says Butte (see picture above). And in the movie Cars, I believe one of the characters/cars has a bumper sticker that looks like this one. The people at Disney/Pixar are comedic geniuses.
  4. Hell, Michigan. Okay, okay, I don’t actually want to live in Hell, Michigan. Maybe I’d just like to drive through it, so I can say I’ve been to hell and back. Or maybe I’ll meet someone there and say “I’ll see you in Hell!” No, I guess neither of those are too Christ-like…  Okay, scratch this one off the list…  And while your at it, scratch Satans Kingdom, Vermont off the list as well…
  5. Normal, Illinois/Odd, West Virginia. I couldn’t decide whether Normal, Illinois or Odd, West Virginia would get on my list, so I decided to flip a coin. Then I couldn’t find a coin, so I just included both of them. I could put a summer home in Normal, and keep a winter home in Odd. Or vice-versa. I can’t decide… Maybe I should flip a coin… Oh, wait…

What about you? Any places you’ve heard of that you think would be cool to live?

2 Comments

Filed under Random/Funny Thoughts

2 responses to “Some Places Where I Don’t Live, But I Wish I Did…

  1. Mountain View Ark.

    I love the simple folks of mountain view, because, i am a simple man. I also like the old time music they play around the `court house square.
    We have visited mountain view every year for the past seven years.

Leave a Reply

