Things I Hate About Myself, Part 4 of ∞

One of the worst things you can hear about someone is that they’re a sellout.  They may have started with great intentions, but when push comes to shove they did it all for the money, or fame, or popularity, or statistics. Wait!  What?  Statistics?  That doesn’t make any sense.  Let me explain…

I was reading some of the older posts from Stuff Christians Like yesterday, when I came across the #82 thing that Christians like – Books that become empires. In that post, Jon Acuff, the author of the SCL blog (and book!), uses the example of the Every Man’s Battle book series written by Stephen Arterburn and Fred Stoeker. It may have started out as one book, but it turned into a series of like 8 or 10 books that regurgitate the same information. They even came out with an Every Man’s Bible. I personally cannot stand this book – I have tried reading Every Young Man’s Battle multiple times, but I can never finish. I just never felt right about something, though I haven’t been able to put my hand on exactly what it is. Acuff mentions some stuff, but I think there is more to it than only what he says.  Anyway, all that to say that it really looks like these authors were more interested in creating a profitable empire than in helping people overcome issues with sexual impurity.  Another good example – the Chicken Soup for the Soul series.  Way too many of those going around.

So after reading about those sellouts and thoroughly judging them, I go to thinking about the plank in my own eye. Have I ever sold out to something?  Yep – I can think of something I’ve sold out just recently.  Blog statistics.

I started this blog with the intentions of making it a place where I could publicly journal my thoughts, especially about those things that I believed God was teaching me. I would write about what my daily Bible studies were about. I would talk about some of my favorite musicians, or what we learned about at church that past Sunday.  I even started adding some random and funny thoughts, since I do tend to have some pretty random thoughts sometimes, and every once in a while, they might be amusing.  Then one day, I got a comment from someone I didn’t know!  I was so excited!  Someone had actually found my blog and had read something on it! From that day, I started looking at my blog stats – the little charts in my dashboard that tell how many people viewed my blog on any given day. It has progressively grown, which I am totally psyched about. But I’m finding myself checking those stats several times a day.

So what happened?  I didn’t intend for this to be my own little popularity contest.  Where did things go wrong?  I dunno…  But I’m not sure I like it. I’m not sure I like it at all…

3 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Thoughts

3 responses to “Things I Hate About Myself, Part 4 of ∞

  1. Kim

    Awww man. Why’d you have to go there??? I am so so guilty of that as well. I can’t seem to help myself.

    So let’s look at how it adds up, it has been a way for me to impact others in a positive way (thumb up), allowed me to excercise sharing my faith (thumbs up), brought me into a closer relationship with God (thumbs up), possibly become an item of self-promotion to a certain degree (thumbs down).

    All in all, I think I am doing a lot of good for myself especially, and maybe for others too. I am praising God in my thoughts and writings daily. And I am being given a practical daily reminder that I need to keep my eyes on God, not on me.

    So all in all, I don’t think we are the worst of the worst, but maybe some attention should be paid to keep things in check.

    • Jeremy

      Yeah… One area that I am having problems with is telling people I’m close to about my blog. I’m pretty open and honest on here, and I don’t want to hurt my family’s or my friends feelings. My wife reads it everyday, but she’s the only one I know personally that I have even told that I have a blog… Like when I wrote about how my best friend played an awkward lovemaking song at his wedding – I’m afraid that would hurt his feelings. So I haven’t told him for sure…

      How about you? Are you pretty open to telling others about your blog?

  2. Kim

    So so. I am moderately open about it. I’ve told a few family members and friends that I feel comfortable discussing my faith with.

    Haven’t got up the nerve yet to share it with my not so safe family members/friends.

Leave a Reply

