My Obsession With Ellipses…

When we were kids, whenever we said that we loved something, our friends always chimed in with “well why don’t you marry it?”  That one always got laughs on the playground…  But when we get older and our friends mature a little bit, instead of inquiring as to why we don’t want to marry, say, a donut (if you love donuts, that is), they make you feel guilty about loving something.  They throw out stuff like “you can’t serve two masters” and “you can’t love God and [insert the thing you love here].”  Well, if I had any friends, the thing they would give me grief over is my obsession with the punctuation mark of the three dots (“…”) – the ellipsis. I am truly obsessed with using the ellipsis in all of my writings.

The definition of an ellipsis on Dictionary.com is “the omission from a sentence or other construction of one or more words that would complete or clarify the construction,” or “a mark or marks as ——, …, or * * *, to indicate an omission or suppression of letters or words.”

So, technically, the correct use of the 3-dot punctuation mark is to remove some part of a sentence or phrase in order to make the sentence more coherent. It is probably best used in quotations, when someone uses more words than you want to quote. You can simply remove the part that you don’t want to quote and insert an ellipsis, even if it’s in the middle of the sentence.  This becomes especially useful if you’re a journalist and you want to twist what someone says to mean something different in order to better serve your sensationalist reporting style.  But I am not a journalist, and I rarely use the ellipsis to omit words from a quote or any other kind of sentence.  I prefer to add the ellipsis to the end of my sentences to create a sort of paused effect.  Like this…

So if you do happen to come across my blog, and you notice a lot of dots at the end of my sentences, please understand that this is an obsession for me…  Don’t try and get me to stop… I realize that it’s not the proper use of the punctuation mark… But I don’t care… I’m not a professional writer… I’m not a professional anything… I just like to use ellipses…  And if I had started this blog before I met my wife, I might have married an ellipsis instead… And honey, if you’re reading this, I’m totally kidding…  Really…

Leave a comment

Filed under Random/Funny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

