My Own Personal Heartbreak Hotel

You know what sucks?  Being lonely.  You know what sucks worse? Being surrounded by people all day, and still being lonely. I work in an office of all guys. One guy is our boss. Two of the other guys work together on projects, and I work with the other guy on projects.  That makes 5 of us in all.  The problem is that the guy I work with on projects is good friends with one of the other guys, so he hangs out with him. That leaves me in my office…by myself…all alone…  Seriously, one of these days I’m going to break out into song in the break room:

Well since my baby left me,
I found a new place to dwell.
It’s down at the end of Lonely Street
At Heartbreak Hotel.

You make me so lonely, baby,
I get so lonely,
I get so lonely I could die.

You have to picture that with my lip curled up and my booty shaking like Elvis. Okay, please stop picturing my booty shaking now, that makes me uncomfortable…

In all seriousness, I spend a majority of my waking hours in this office with these guys, and I can’t seem to make friends with any of them.  I know it’s not them – they all seem like perfectly friendly guys. I just can’t make friends with anyone any more. I used to make friends just fine…what happened to me? Maybe it’s because I break out into song in the break room too much…

Ideas, anyone???

2 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

2 responses to “My Own Personal Heartbreak Hotel

  1. Sorry to hear about that.

    My husband went through that one place he worked. And it was that place. He works somewhere else now and makes friends just fine.

    • Jeremy

      I hate to blame these guys here…they have all been really friendly on a superficial level. My only complaint about anyone being unfriendly is that they sometimes go to lunch without asking me if I’d like to go, and once they had a meeting (all of them) and didn’t tell me. I had to go down and see them meeting, ask if I was supposed to be there, and then join their meeting. But other than those things, on a day-to-day basis they are all polite and we get along.

      I guess I shouldn’t complain… I have a wonderful wife and daughter who make it a delight to come home every day! :)

Leave a Reply

