Questioning God…

I came across an interesting web page while looking up stuff for an earlier post this morning. My post earlier talked about being real with God and letting Him know when you’re angry, sad, or any one of a million other emotions. In that post, I focused on telling God about our emotions, or what might be construed as complaining to God. But this web page I came across looked at questioning God from a different perspective. Here’s the link:

Is it OK to question God?

I don’t know about you, but this was very eye-opening to me. Especially the part where the author says “David wasn’t doubting God, he was doubting he understood God.”  And this is the hardest part about obeying what God tells you to do – wondering if you heard God right.  Since God doesn’t often speak to me audibly (actually, I don’t know that He has ever done so), when I do think he is telling me something in my spirit, there is often a little doubt.  I’ll remember from now on that it’s okay to go back to God and ask for a little clarification.

2 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Thoughts

2 responses to “Questioning God…

  1. One of my favorite Scriptures is Isaiah 1:18

    “Come now, and let us reason together,” says the Lord, “Though your sins are as scarlet, They will be white as snow, Though they are red like crimson, They will be like wool”

    Unlike tyrants on earth who look upon questioning as rebellion, God sees our weakness our fears, our limited perception. He knows we are but dust.

    All I can say is that I have put many things ‘on the table’ between God and myself. Things that just didn’t look fair or just or whatever, either in my life or in the life of another. And never once have I felt shamed or guilty. But rather, God has patiently either given me an answer or patiently given me peace until and answer could come in His time.

    Good question though. It’s all a part of the process of learning His nature.

    • jjtrayn

      I think the biggest lesson God is trying to teach me about His nature right now is that He is holy. He is completely different than us – His thoughts are not our thoughts, and His ways are not our ways (Isaiah 55:8). In fact, I’ll probably start researching to make a post on this today. If I can get it through my thick skull that my God does things differently than I do, it isn’t so hard to see why I may not understand the reasoning behind why He is doing something (or allowing something to happen) a particular way.

      I also believe that God has every trait that He has said we should have, including patience. He has the patience for us to ask Him “why” in troubled times. And he has the patience for us to come to Him when we doubt we understood His directions.

      The Bible has many stories of when God did NOT tolerate it when someone sinned or directly disobeyed Him, but He has never said (that I know of) that we cannot question Him. So this, I believe, He tolerates in love for us.

Leave a Reply

