Where does a blog fit in with Christian Spirituality?

So I guess blogs have become a pretty big thing…  I’m always the last one to get in to big things, or so it seems. Oh well, now I can say to the blog world “I have arrived!”

If you’ve read my About This Site page (editor’s note: page no longer exists), then you already know that I really have no expectations for anyone to actually read my blog. In fact, if no one ever read it, it would still serve its purpose for me, which is to give me an outlet through which I can think out loud, so to speak, and voice these thoughts that go through my head on a daily basis. I realized a while back that I have a lot of thoughts – most of which are pretty useless and might even get me beat up if I were to let them out of this awkward place that is my mind. But every once in a while I read something or see something online or hear someone speak about something that seems really profound, and I want to remember it and chew on it and make it mean something to me, personally. Then I promptly forget all about it by the time I go to sleep and wake up the next morning. So, here is this blog, a place where I can write things down and share thoughts that might otherwise get lost somewhere between my neurons.

Now, to answer the question I posed in the title of this post – I really don’t know that a blog has a place to fit in with Christian Spirituality. Certainly Jesus commanded his followers to reach out to the world and to impact it for the kingdom of God!  But does a blog really do that? Technically, if the whole world were to read my blog, I’m not sure that many people would be impacted on a spiritual level. Most people would do just like I do – they would read something that they just might think is interesting or profound or worth remembering, and they would quickly forget they ever read it.

About a year ago, a friend of mine told me to consider reading a book by Don Miller called Blue Like Jazz. Like usual, I immediately forgot about it, but at some point I ran across it at my local Christian bookstore. I bought it, read it (I had a hard time putting it down), and told myself that it deserved another read. Instead, I went and bought another of his books, Searching for God Knows What. I can’t tell you which book it was that I got this idea from (things tend to run together for me like that), but Miller really hits home when he talks about actually doing something to impact the world instead of just talking about it (or even joining in protests with signs that talk about it). Thinking of it with this in mind, I’m almost positive a blog has very little place in Christian spirituality.  In James 2:15-16 there is a passage that says “…suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, ‘Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,’ but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?”  In a way, I’m afraid that some might think that, by blogging, I am saying things that people should do (like “keep warm and well fed”), but that I’m not actually doing anything. And they would be right…

So, I’ll finish by restating that this blog isn’t really intended to help other people as much as it is intended to help me. Perhaps I’ll write something on here, and by doing so I’ll help concrete it into my mind, where I can then use it within my circle of influence to impact the world (or someone’s world) for Christ.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Thoughts

Leave a Reply

